Date Title External link

Cavalo receives the prize for best stand of the ‘Opening’ sector at Arco Madrid 2018

The prize for the best stand in the Opening sector for young galleries was awarded to Cavalo at the Arco Madrid 2018 art fair. With works by Marina Weffort and Pablo Pijnappel, the Carioca gallery was chosen from 19 international venues in the sector with curatorship by Stefanie Hessler and Ilaria Gianni. The gallery directors Ana Elisa Cohen and Felipe Pena received the award from a jury of curators and art professionals. With only two years of existence, this is the second time the gallery receives a prize in an international fair, after the one for best stand in the sector ‘New Entries’ of the Italian art fair Artissima in 2016.
This year’s project features Pablo Pijnappel’s  video installation Sensuous Exercises based on two American bestsellers from 1968 and 1971 that teach men and women how to seduce their partners, resulting in frustrating situations when adapted for the contemporary Rio de Janeiro. Establishing a dialogue with the sensuality of these videos, Marina Weffort shows works from her series ‘Fabrics’, part of her research into the elaboration of compositions that move organically in the environment in which they are exhibited.

Marina Weffort finalist of illy SustainArt award

A artista Marina Weffort foi indicada para o prêmio illy SustainArt durante a feira ARCOmadrid 2018

A lista completa dos finalistas:

Daniel Steegmann (Brasil) / Esther Schipper

Engel Leonardo (Santo Domingo) / FormatoComodo

Ivan Grilo (Brasil) / Casa Triângulo

Jasmin López (Argentina) / Ruth Benzacar

Marcelo Cidade (Brasil) / Bruno Múrias

Marina Weffort (Brasil) / Cavalo

Opavivará (Brasil) / A Gentil Carioca

Voluspa Jarpa (Chile) / Mor Charpentier

Yael Jáquez & Aleshian Ben (Santo Domingo) / Sindicato

Ad Minolti (Argentina) / Crevecour


Alvaro Seixas is nominated for ‪Pipa Prize 2018

Cavalo’s artist Alvaro Seixas is among the ones nominated for the 9th edition of PIPA Prize, the most prominent Brazilian award in the Visual Arts.